reading new year…

2 Jan

Image

 

Happy 2013!

I’m a sucker for kicking off new months and years and I hope you find as much promise in the start of a new year as I do.

Every year I “make” a ton of resolutions…things I’d like to do a little better (not nag my family) or things I’d like to do a little more often (workout). I make lists…long ones…because I feel my optimism for the next 365 days can be sustained. (Whether this is actually true is a whole other blog post.) 

So far, I’ve not actually written anything down for 2013. All the ideas are just bouncing around in my head, competing for space. Cook more dinners…definitely work out…write more letters…stop drinking pop…watch Ellen more often. I could go on and on really.

But I stumbled upon this today…

Image

 

…and decided this resolution is going down on paper, er, this blog!

You see I do read…a lot…all year long…every year. Picture books to Lucy. Children’s nonfiction or chapter books with Tom. Magazines galore. (I’ve got about a dozen subscriptions and am always at least a month behind in reading them. Just ask my sister who gets them after I’m done.) Facebook posts. (I just can’t help myself!) My own notes and stories before I send them in to my magazine or newspaper editors.

But you see, I don’t often stop and read the kinds of books that only I want to read…for me. Last year I read ten…just TEN! But they were glorious and thinking back on them I loved being absorbed into them intensely for the few days I spent on each (and yes I admit for The Hunger Games trilogy it was more of an obsession than an absorption.) 

So this year, I resolve to make more time for books I choose to read…just for me. I’m shooting for 24 folks. I feel a little wimpy (I know someone that committed to reading one short story a day for 2013) with just 24, but it’s an improvement over last year’s performance and on December 31, 2013 I think it’s something I’ll be proud of.

I’ve got stacks and stacks of books around this house…obviously long neglected. I can’t wait to pick a few of them up. But I’m open to suggestions of course. If you’ve got a book I should definitely add to my list, please let me know. (Just keep in mind I’m a sucker for anything middle school kids would be reading!) 

And If you’d like to sign up too, just check out goodreads. Not only is it fun to keep track of what you’ve read or what you’d like to pick up next, but you too can decide how many books you’ll tackle this year. Then we can hold each other accountable!

So again, Happy New Year! And as always, happy reading!

6 Responses to “reading new year…”

  1. Lisa Gray Giurato January 2, 2013 at 4:40 am #

    Love it. I’m in.

  2. Dan Mills January 8, 2013 at 3:59 am #

    I will try to tackle at least 4.

  3. Kristie V. January 13, 2013 at 2:02 am #

    I missed my challenge last year by 2, but I’m going to make it this year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 759 other followers

