Call me crazy…but I’m going to write a young adult novel!

9 May

OK so I have been saying I wanted to write books for kids for quite some time (before I had my own kids even.) So I decided 2010 was going to be the year I should stop talking about it and actually start writing.

And so I’ve started writing this book. But this isn’t my first writing gig, I’ll have you know. I have, in fact, been a writer for a long time. I loved writing stories as a kid, was editor of my high school newspaper (totally cool, right?!) and got serious about it in college, when I majored in Magazine Journalism and English/Writing at Drake University. I’ve spent the last eight years writing for various publications (as a freelance journalist) on a wide variety of topics—everything from profiles of local folks making good in the community (check out page 10 and 11) to tips on installing a car seat properly (trust me, it’s much harder that it looks!)

But this is my first attempt at writing not only a novel, but a novel that will entertain kids…more specifically tweens and teens. Yikes! You, like me, may be wondering why I didn’t start out with something a little less challenging. Sure, there are moments when I think I might be crazy. But really when it comes to starting the quest of becoming a published author, I don’t think there is a non-challenging approach. Tweens and teens excluded, writing a book can be a daunting project (I am certainly not 100 percent sure of my abilities 100 percent of the time.) But I whole-heartedly believe it wouldn’t be worth doing if it wasn’t going to challenge me, push my abilities, enhance my skills and keep me learning in an ever-changing world. Oh, and tell a truly unique and special story that kids everywhere can’t wait to pick up.

So I write. And you can join me here (at least weekly) where I’ll let you in on the process of bringing my novel idea to life.

2 Responses to “Call me crazy…but I’m going to write a young adult novel!”

  1. Jessica May 26, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    This is SO cool, Katie! I love the idea for the ya novel and following along with you as you go will be such a fun adventure – I’m already looking forward to the next post!

    • katiemillsgiorgio May 26, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

      Thanks Jessica! I am pretty excited about it and it really helps when people share their enthusiasm too!

Leave a Reply

