My main man, er, boy…

7 Jun

So, the main character of “Evelyn’s Drawings Can’t Swim” is a 12-year-old boy named Noah.

You might be asking yourself where I get the authority to create a 12-year-old character anyway?

Interesting you should ask. This past weekend I just finished reading “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak—which is a captivating novel and masterfully written story that I would highly recommend—in which Zusak tells the story of a young girl (who is 14 years old at the end of the story.) As I was reading I was thinking the same thing about him…how did he create and relate to a young girl as an adult male writer?

For me there are several answers to the question…

For starters, I need my main character to be about the age of the children that I hope read this story. They need someone to relate to, who thinks and acts like them in the situations he will encounter; who is learning about himself and the world around him in the same way they are.

My second answer to how I am able to create a believable 12-year-old boy as my main character lies in the fact that I am lucky enough to be related to several boys this age. I have the honor of being the oldest of 28 grandchildren so several of my cousins are currently living the pre-adolescent dream. They remind me often of what it is like to be this age and I am thankful to have them to bounce ideas off of.

And finally I would simply say it is the magic of writing and story-telling. There is great power in words and well-crafted descriptions. And each day I am getting to know my main character more and more. I find out what he is thinking and feeling and hoping and I look forward to sharing that with my readers.

My new friend Noah plays around in my mind often (especially when I am trying to fall asleep.) And just like with my own children, I am really excited to watch him grow as he takes on the adventure that is “Evelyn’s Drawings Can’t Swim”.

I hope you are too!

9 Responses to “My main man, er, boy…”

  1. shannon1030 June 7, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    You are just an amazing person! Good read!

  2. Kate Ford June 7, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    More… can not wait to read MORE! xo

  3. Cissy June 8, 2010 at 2:04 am #

    You are so talented!! I can’t wait to watch this whole book come together.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I love Mother Nature… « Just Katie - June 9, 2010

    […] the story, the flood became the villain again. It threatens, among other things, something that Noah has grown to love. And with the help of his friend Mrs. G—the children’s librarian and Noah’s […]

  2. A Collection Saved… « Just Katie - July 1, 2010

    […] the most to them…pets, photos, a special toy, whatever it might be. For my main character Noah, the collection of children’s book illustrations at the Cedar Rapids Public Library is what he […]

  3. Narrator, narrator…where art thou? « Just Katie - July 15, 2010

    […] I want anyone that reads my book to be able to relate to my characters (especially my main character Noah). And so my writing will be a balancing act I think of maintaining the distinct and important voice […]

Leave a Reply

