Live from South Dakota…

24 Jun

I’m a rather routined person. When I get up in the morning I do pretty much the same things, in the same order, every day to get the kids and myself ready. And I don’t know what I’d do without a bedtime routine. 

But for some strange reason when it comes to writing I don’t have just one way or order or place for doing it. Routines are tossed out the window. For example, people are always asking me where the kids go when I write. That makes me chuckle because more often than not they are right there running circles around me while I type.

But the fact that I don’t have to be in one certain place to write is one of the things I enjoy very much about my profession. My writing comes with me wherever I go. In fact, this week I’ve been on vacation with my family in North and South Dakota. And of course I packed my writing.

I’ve been writing on a laptop in the car as we’ve driven hour after hour up and down and across this beautiful country. I’ve typed away on a netbook (Love it!) while my daughter napped in a cabin surrounded by the breathtaking Badlands. And I’ve jotted notes down in the notepad I carry in my purse all the while. Because when you’re a writer, ideas follow you around even on vacation.

Of course, most days I sit at my little yellow desk in the corner of our living room and type away on my PC. A lot of times I also write in my head as I lay in bed trying to fall asleep (hoping my perfectly constructed sentence will be there when I wake up.)

So I guess the point here is that as a writer, I am always writing something. Whether it’s a chapter of “Evelyn’s Drawings Can’t Swim”, an article for a local publication, or an idea for a new story. Writing is essentially always part of the routine.

But for now I’m signing off until I’m back in Cedar Rapids. I am on vacation after all…

Leave a Reply

