fairy tales reimagined…

24 Feb

So this past weekend I took the kiddies (and my sister) to see Gnomeo & Juliet. It’s a cute gnomantic comedy (their promotional lingo, as much as I’d like to take credit for it) that retells the story of Romeo and Juliet as garden gnomes turn star-crossed lovers. Plus they manage to weave in Elton John songs to move the plot along. A mix that I probably wouldn’t have thought of but that works in a very entertaining way on the big screen.

Part of the reason I was so intrigued with this story concept may have been my obsession with The Amazing Race (which also kicked off a new season last weekend and has a fascination with gnomes.) But a bigger part of it is because I love when people reimagine fairy tales.

For instance, I recently picked up a new book for my three-year old called Ponyella by Laura Numeroff and Nate Evans. You guessed it…Cinderella meets adorable ponies. It was love at first read (for both me and Lucy.) It’s the perfect mix of two of Lucy’s favorite things.

And a quick search on Amazon helps prove my point…there are lots of options if you want to read a fairy tale with a different twist.  Like Waynetta and the Cornstalk: A Texas Fairy Tale. And Hansel and Diesel. And Waking Beauty.

Not only are these books entertaining (and often pretty darn funny) but it also goes to show you that every story…even time-honored classics…has another way of being told.

5 Responses to “fairy tales reimagined…”

  1. Jessi Corriston March 1, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    I teach compare and contrast with all the different versions of fairy tales! My students love it. I remember learning the real meanings behind fairy tales when I got older, and I ate that up just as much.

  2. Annie Wiesner-Schaub June 13, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    Ponyella is a favorite of mine and my 3 year-old’s as well, Katie! I picked it up at the St. Matt’s book fair. Or, should I say, my daughter picked it up….and wouldn’t hear of putting it back down. 🙂 Caught wind of your blog after catching up on my friend, Anne Ylvisaker’s. Nice guest post!

    • katiemillsgiorgio June 13, 2011 at 2:41 am #

      Thanks Annie! I have been slacking on the posts here but vow to get back on the blogwagon this week! And it sounds like our three-year-olds have a lot in common 😉

  3. Merritt June 27, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    HI Katie –
    Just catching up with your blog again. I love it reimagined stories as well. After reading this post I was reminded of a movie Todd and I saw recently “Language of the Enemy” – which is a Romeo and Juliet remake but I didn’t figure it out until about half way through. It’s about the Isreali/Palestinian conflict with a love story intertwined. I wouldn’t recommend it for kids, but I thought they did a pretty good job in the retelling. It’s worth a trip to the Redbox!

    • katiemillsgiorgio June 27, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

      Thanks Merritt! And I appreciate the movie suggestion…I’ll be headed to the Redbox for sure 😉

Leave a Reply

