katie = ideas – time

8 Apr

You may have noticed that I’ve been slacking on the regular weekly blog post (it’s not St. Patrick’s Day anymore!)

But I’ll have you  know that doesn’t mean I haven’t been writing….or working…or raising kids for that matter!

In the past few weeks I’ve taken on several new and exciting freelance writing projects that will be keeping me busy for a while. I always say freelancing is feast or famine and I’ve bellied right up to the buffet for the time being.

Perhaps the most exciting thing to write about here is the time I spent last weekend at the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI for short but not much easier to say) Iowa conference. It was an amazingly inspirational weekend…I heard many presentations from experts in the children’s literature field…the likes of Candace Fleming, Eric Rohmann, Gary D. Schmidt, Diane Muldrow (editoral director for Little Golden Books!), and many more.

I also sat down with a real life editor (from one of those big publishing houses in NYC!) and had her critique a picture book manuscript I have been working on. Of course she didn’t offer me a contract on the spot, but she pointed out what she liked about my story and gave me some very insightful suggestions for revision.

I met new friends, had authors sign books for me (one of my most favorite things in the world), and left with new hope that one day I might include “children’s book author” on my list of life’s successes.

So between now and last weekend I haven’t had much time to sit down and just let the creativity flow. But ideas are definitely brewing!

Now if only my super hero power of making more hours in the day (and night…a girl needs her beauty rest) would kick in so I can stir them all up!

2 Responses to “katie = ideas – time”

  1. anne April 8, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    I followed your link from FB — sounds like you had an exciting and inspiring weekend! I’m looking forward to hearing/reading more about your writing adventures!

Leave a Reply

