15 Apr

Tonight I just finished reading The Boxcar Children. (How many times do I have to tell you? I only read kids books!)

This classic series of mystery stories for kids was a favorite of mine when I was younger. I can’t recall which particular story was my favorite or how many of the series (there are more than 100 of them and they are now making them into graphic novels as well as issuing a prequel to the series!) I actually owned or checked out from the library. But I think of the Alden children fondly.

The interesting thing is, after I flipped to the last page of the first book tonight with a smile on my face, I realized I hardly remembered anything from the storyline. I had forgotten all about grandfather and about their dog Watch. I didn’t remember that Henry worked for Dr. Moore or that Violet got sick. And I’ll just be honest… I didn’t even remember their names! It made me wonder what I loved so much about these books that made me want to pick them back up as a 30-year-old.

Sadly I can’t channel my thoughts as a ten-year-old (wouldn’t that be an insightful blog post?) But as I think about it now, I have a feeling that a story about four siblings (including a very responsible and tidy older sister) probably had some appeal. Plus, who wouldn’t want to live in a cool old train car with no adult supervision!?

So now I am eager to read more of the books I remember reading and loving as a child. Number the Stars (perhaps my most favorite of all), The Phantom Tollbooth, and Bridge to Terabithia are all patiently waiting on my bookshelf.

It will be an interesting journey to see what it was from each story that made me hold on to the sentimental memory of that book.

What about you? Any childhood favorites you should consider revisiting?

I’d be happy to reintroduce you to the children’s section of the library or your local bookstore.

2 Responses to “”

  1. Jessi Corriston April 29, 2011 at 3:21 am #

    I have a goal to read every Newberry Medal winner before I turn 30. (I have a little over a year left.) I have resorted to checking out books on tape at the library so I can “read” two at once. My 5th graders are involved in book clubs more because I want to have conversations about these books and adults never read them. =)

    • katiemillsgiorgio April 29, 2011 at 3:27 am #

      i love this idea…although i’d have to pick another age benchmark as i’ve already crossed over into the 30s! i’ll totally starta virtual book club with you. have you read “the wednesday wars” yet? i might suggest it as our first selection.

Leave a Reply

