writing in the cracks…

13 Jan

OK, OK, OK…I know it’s been FAR too long! But I’m here now…so here goes.

I just got back from an evening spent at the OneBookTwoBook Festival in Iowa City with my dear friend Sara. We listened to twenty 4th through 6th graders read their poems and stories aloud, which was truly inspiring. As we grow older (at least in my case) it becomes increasingly difficult to stand in front of a crowd and read your own work.

Then we got to hear from author and National Book Award winner (for her book Mockingbird) Katheryn Erskine. She said many wonderful things about why we tell stories and how important it is to make sure kids of all ages and abilities feel understood and appreciated.

But the one little nugget that I know I’ll remember for quite some time came when someone asked Erskine what her writing process is. She not only said she isn’t the type of writer that sits down every day to write but she also said she is often “writing in the cracks.” It’s a phrase I’ve heard before that totally hits home for me. And I don’t think you have to have a husband, two young kids, a dog, two part time jobs and a freelance writing career to (not to mention the rest of life) to understand what it means.

The cracks may be all I’ve got at this point in my life, but I walked out of the room where Katheryn Erskine was standing and thought “you can win the National Book Award just writing in the cracks.”

Call me an eternal optimist…I’ll see you when I find the next crack.

5 Responses to “writing in the cracks…”

  1. Lyz January 16, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    I love this! A writing mentor of mine said something similar about how when your life is full you write in stolen time. I love that and it was really encouraging to read But now, I just have to borrow that time for my writing instead of for swiffering my floors.

    • katiemillsgiorgio January 16, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

      Oh I like that phrase too. I spent all weekend swiffering my floors instead of writing but I guess it’s a delicate balance huh?!

  2. Katie Geiken January 16, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    You’re doing it just right, Katie. It’s the living life part that gives us inspiration while in the cracks.

  3. dan mills May 15, 2013 at 2:46 am #

    Holy cow Kate. Thats a lot of great stuff. Keep it up. DA

Leave a Reply

