read ALOUD!

2 Mar

You may or may not be aware that this coming Wednesday, March 7th has been deemed World Read Aloud Day, which may very well be my new favorite holiday. I mean it’s obvious that I love books, but I also happen to love to read them aloud to anyone who will listen. Usually it happens to be these two characters…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

wait…here they are prepared to be better listeners…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love reading to my kiddos…it’s the best part of my day, every day. As part of our nighttime routine we read anywhere from two to six books…that we pick out from the St. Matthew School Library, the Cedar Rapids Public Library, or our own ever growing library here at home.

Today–because it’s snowing and frankly we thought we were done with the white stuff–we snuggled up and read Ponyella (Lucy’s pick and recommendation) by Laura Numeroff and Nate Evans, Stick (which Tom actually read to me and Lucy…LOVE!) by Steve Breen, and Dr. Seuss’s ABC (which my 60-year-old father-in-law still has memorized from reading to my husband when he was little) written by none other than Dr. Seuss (whose birthday is being celebrated in a big way today…he would have been 108!)

You see I think reading to your kids is a requirement of parenting. It is not only fun, quality time together, but it also helps you raise a child who loves to read (and boost their brain power, among other benefits while you do it.)

It will come as no surprise that I signed up in support of World Read Aloud Day…you can too! The best part is that you don’t have to jump through any hoops or make a huge commitment to be part of something so important. Just read to your kids…or with a friend…or to an elderly person. Heck, even your dog would enjoy a  good read aloud session. I plan to read to the kids at Tom and Lucy’s school…and to Tom and Lucy of course.

The way I see it, every day should be read aloud day!

4 Responses to “read ALOUD!”

  1. Katie Geiken March 2, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    My dog likes One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish 🙂

  2. Julie March 3, 2012 at 12:22 am #

    Yes, it is the duty of parents to read to their children, and it is also one of the BEST PARTS of being a parent.

  3. Terri Ohde March 4, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Katie,

    This sounds like a wonderful celebration of reading! I will spread the word with my students in the library Wednesday! Reading Rocks!

    Mrs. Ohde

Leave a Reply

