’tis the season…

26 Nov

[First of all, I’ll thank you in advance for ignoring the fact that I fell off the blog train many moons ago.]

I’m back because the holiday spirit has kicked in and I couldn’t resist bringing a little Christmas cheer to my blog.

I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving (more on that later this week, as sometimes I like to go out of order) and are ready to celebrate the most wonderful time of the year! I spent the last few days digging the decorations out of the basement and finding the best spots for display (that won’t tempt Tom and Lucy to touch the too much) so our house looks ready to celebrate. It was so nice just to hang around home for a few days and cross things off my to do list instead of rushing out the door for Black Friday shopping.

Black Friday is just not my thing.

Now I like a good deal as much as the next shopper (seriously I can’t resist coupons), but this year I will say I am not in the mindset to shop just yet. Maybe tomorrow when my email inbox is flooded with super, fantastic Cyber Monday deals I won’t be able to resist.

I will tell you that when I am ready there are two things I’m keeping in mind, that I’d like you to remember too…

1. Shop Local. Now don’t call me a hypocrite because I didn’t rush out on Small Business Saturday to snatch up all the great gifts I’ll be giving. Once I do start my shopping I’ll be supporting as many locally owned businesses as possible. They like my spending any day of the holiday season (and year for that matter!) You’ve probably heard all the statistics so I won’t spout them off. But shopping local just makes sense and is good for the community you live in. You don’t have to be exclusive…I love Target probably more than any other store out there and will surely be snagging some great finds there. I’m just saying that if you can shift a little of your spending this year to a great local restaurant, or independent bookstore, or cute retail boutique (those may or may not be shopping hints for me!) all those great shops will hopefully stick around for many Christmases to come.

 

 

2. Give back. It’s simple but so powerful! And this year I was excited to see that there is a movement starting to give giving back a place at the big shopping days table. #GivingTuesday is challenging consumers to take a break from consuming to share the love. Volunteer, make a donation or drop off some food at a food pantry. It doesn’t have to be big. It just has to be done. And let’s face it, you and I and most of the people we know already have more than enough stuff. So find a cause that you love or they’d love and be a part of #GivingTuesday. I can promise you I’ll be doing my part.

Maybe I’m preaching to the choir here. Or maybe you think I’m just plain bossy when it comes to how you spend your holiday dollars.

Either way, I do hope we all have a merry little Christmas!

Leave a Reply

