back in the saddle

28 Aug

Oh, well, hello there!

It’s been quite a long time…like an embarrassingly long time! Seriously, don’t look at the date of my last post. It’s ancient history!

But here we are, now. The kids just started the 2014-2015 school year (hooray!) and I’m now focused on full-time freelance writing (newspapers, magazine, websites…oh my!) and writing creatively for kids (fingers crossed that it eventually means a book contract!) It’s just me and our doggie sitting around in a quiet house for the better part of the day.

I did kick back and relax for a bit (when the new couch arrived!!!)

I’m only three days in to this “new normal” (honestly I’m still adjusting to the quiet and am glad I have the dog to talk to) so I don’t have it all figured out just yet. But I did realize–or was finally honest with myself–that I’ve ignored this blog for far too long. And that writing here needs to be a part of my new normal routine.

So today, I have no wisdom or nugget of interest to share (let’s be honest…I’m not sure that I ever do!) I just wanted to write and say that I’ll be back writing here…and writing with purpose…soon!

I pinky promise!

This summer’s adventures included a family trail ride by horseback. I rode a lovely and gentle horse named Ray. Here’s proof…

I’ll admit I was a bit nervous (as I don’t get to go horseback riding often and my kids were riding on their own!) but I climbed up into that saddle and enjoyed every minute (except for the aching tailbone the next day!)

So today I’m climbing back into the blogging saddle. I’m not necessarily nervous (at least not the same kind of nervous from being around large, beautiful horses) but it did take some convincing and it’s sure to be a much longer ride.

Giddy up!

 

Leave a Reply

